I agree with Sarah Palin-Quayle on something! And a prayer for Glenn

Only Sarah Palin-Quayle can make the news for inadvertently having made up a word: “refudiate,” an apparent combination of “refute” and “repudiate.” (If memory serves, my father used to say “flustrated,” an apparent combination of “flustered” and “frustrated.” He’s not the brightest bulb, either, God love ’im.)

But more important than Sarah Palin-Quayle’s utter unfamiliarity with her mother tongue is what she was talking about: the proposed building for Muslims two blocks away from where the twin towers of the World Trade Center used to stand.

Notes Politico: “The building’s planners, the American Society for Muslim Advancement and the Cordoba Initiative, have said it’s modeled on religious and community centers such as the YMCA, and that the 13-story, $100 million building would also include an arts center, gym and a swimming pool, as well as a mosque. It would be two blocks away from Ground Zero.”

Palin-Quayle Tweeted yesterday (I’ll never get over an apparent presidential aspirant whose main form of communication apparently is Twitter; really, can the upskirt photos be very far off?): “Peace-seeking Muslims, pls understand, Ground Zero mosque is UNNECESSARY provocation; it stabs hearts. Pls reject it in interest of healing.”

I agree with Palin-Quayle that the Muslim complex should not be opened, but for entirely different reasons.

Palin-Quayle wants to milk the whole 9/11 thing and appeal to her Muslim-hating, “Christo”fascist base, but I think that the Muslim complex is a bad idea because the safety of everyone who ever enters the building would be in jeopardy at all times.

I mean, think about it: a Muslim complex opens just two blocks away from where the WTC once stood, and all of the Cooters and Skeeters and Zekes of the backasswards parts of the nation are going to get ideas in their tea-baggin’ heads about gettin’ revenge on them Mooslems for 9/11. If the Muslim complex opens, I envision shootings and/or bombings and/or other violent attacks upon it.

Repugnican New York Mayor Michael Bloomberg supports the plan for the Muslim complex, and believes that those who wish to block the complex are trying to block religious freedom, according to Politico.

I agree with Bloomberg, and I don’t believe that the complex should be prevented from opening — I think that virtually all organized religion is bullshit, and I can’t see why you’d let some bullshit organized religions have buildings but not others — but I still think that it’s a poor idea to go through with the complex, for safety reasons.

I have no reason to doubt that, as this presumably Muslim Huffington Post blogger writes, the proposed Muslim complex “is less of a mosque, in a commonly understood sense, and more of a public space aimed at celebrating our common humanity and increasing community harmony. Such a message seems to be the perfect antidote to the hate and anger that fuels violence and terrorism.”

Ya know, though, I just don’t see the wingnuts taking it that way. It presumes, against everything that they have demonstrated, that they have any real fucking interest whatsofuckingever in such things as “celebrating our common humanity and increasing community harmony.” Uh, they don’t want the “antidote” to hate — and they don’t want to buy the world a Coke, either.

I guess if I had a Twitter account, I’d Tweet something like this: “Pls, Muslims, don’t open your complex near Ground Zero, because the ‘tea-party’ dipshits WILL TRY TO KILL YOU! Refudiate! Refudiate!”

Shit, I just might have to get me a Twitter account…

Grand Dragon Glenn Beck reports that he might go blind.

Really.

I tend not to believe it, or I tend to believe, at least, that the assbite is exaggerating for attention and sympathy.

Still, I say that we should pray for Glenn: Pray that he goes mute instead.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

